Away From The Numbers


Bayview ParkBayview StadiumEast Fife FC #1AFTN Flag38 Cup Winning Squad47 Cup Winning Squad

The East Fife Prediction League was originally the brainwave of 'Ace' who launched it on the forum of the official East Fife website forum at the start of the 2003/2004 season.

The forum on the official website was disbanded towards the end of 2003 and with AFTN being launched onto the unsuspecting worldwide web in December of that year, it only made sense to move the whole shooting match to ourselves and thus the AFTN East Fife Prediction League was born.

Inaugural East Fife Prediction League Winner Paul Galloway With His Two Trophies
Two time trophy winner Paul Galloway
Since it's launch it's been one of the most popular aspects of not only the forum but the whole website and every year it's becoming more keenly contested.

PAUL GALLOWAY was the inaugural winner for the 2003/2004 season and against all odds he repeated his triumph in the 2004/2005 season.

It's been tough going for him since though!

He lost his crown to STU THE BLUE in a 2005/2006 season that went right down to the last game of the season with three people in contention.

Stu eventually won with 175 points and an 11 point margin over GOF on 164 points and DEEPER IN THE BROWN STUFF picking up the bronze with 153.

95 different people took part in the 2005/2006 competition, but showing how hard it is to repeat, Stu was nowhere the following season and the mantle of East Fife Prediction Champion went to East Fife historian extraordinaire, and former Vancouver Whitecaps Prediction League Champion, JIM CORSTORPHINE.

Jim won the 2006/2007 title with ease in the end, scoring 178 points in the process, with DEEPER IN THE BROWN STUFF coming second on 167 and BAYVIEWBOY and GRANT1903 sharing the bronze medal position on 165 points.

The 2005/2006 and 2006/2007 AFTN Prediction League Winners
2005/2006 Champion Stu The Blue (left) and 2006/2007 Champion Jim Corstorphine (right) with their coveted trophies

Jim beat 90 other competitors to win his crown, but like Stu The Blue, he found the pressure too much and crumbled the next season!

The 2007/2008 competition saw a record breaking 116 competitors and a record breaking points total for the deserved winner JEFF.

The competition went right down to the wire again and Jeff, Grant 1903 and KotS all in with a chance of winning depending on the scoreline at Albion Rovers.

Jeff came from nowhere with some 100% predictions in the final weeks to win the trophy on 229 points. Long time leader, KOTS, was just edged into second place by two points on 227, and GRANT 1903 took the bronze medal on 224.

So that's it over for another season.

What will 2008/2009 have in store? Will Jeff repeat or will we have a new name on the trophy? Watch the action unfold on the forum and take part as it could be you holding the silverware aloft come next May!